You are here: Home  > Jaguar XK140 Diagram

Jaguar XK140 Diagram

The Jaguar XK140 was a sports car manufactured between 1954 and 1957 by Jaguar. It succeeded the spectacular XK120 and came in three different body styles: the roadster, the Drop Head Coupé and the Fixed Head Coupé. In addition each of the three body styles were offered in three versions: the standard car, the M version with dual exhaust, wire wheels and fog lamps, and the MC (known as SE in the UK), which received all the M equipment and was fitted with the C-Type cylinder head.

The XK140 featured the Jaguar XK straight six 3.4 litre engine mated to a four-speed manual transmission. In 1956 a three-speed automatic became optional on the Drop Head Coupé and the Fixed Head Coupé. Thus the XK140 became the first Jaguar sports car to be offered with an automatic transmission.

The XK140 was essentially an upgrade of the XK120 but there were quite a few differences between the two models. The XK140 boasted more interior space, improved brakes and a rack and pinion steering which substantially improved handling. It also had large bumpers with overriders on the front and rear bumpers and modern flashing turn signals.

A chrome trim strip ran along the centre of the bonnet and continued down the centre of the boot lid. Mounted on the boot lid was an emblem with the words "Winner Le Mans 1951-3" signifying the knowledge and experience Jaguar had gained from their victories in the 24 Hours of Le Mans from 1951 to 1953 and built into the XK140. Production came to an end in 1957 with a total of 8,884 XK140s built.

Contact Information

Myton Automotive

+44 (0) 1926 427375